Arms Akimbo = Facebook appropriate

Arms akimbo. Yeah, it’s a thing. And it’s what I learned today…

According to Wikipedia, arms akimbo is: a human body position in which the hands are on the hips and the elbows are bowed outward, or bent or bowed in a more general sense.

Soooo, this:

Women the world over, however, know it best as the ideal position to be photographed in because:

  1. Your, um, “extra arm bulge” is made less visible as it’s not billowed against the side of your body;
  2. You can simultaneously push in your love handles, giving you a more hourglass-like figure; and
  3. This pose seamlessly gives you a bit of flair and spunk, but really, you know what’s up (1 & 2).

Can I get an Amen?

Don’t believe me? Pick a girlfriend, go to her Facebook page. I guarantee that at least one of her first 10 tagged photos will feature her with arms akimbo. Or at least one arm akimbo, and the girlfriend she’s pictured with reciprocating with the opposite arm. That, my friends, is a skill.

In the age of Facebook and photo-sharing, digital cameras and Smartphones, it’s hard not to be snapped in an image that will soon make the rounds of public viewership. As a result, people (and by people, I mean females) are very aware of how to position themselves juuust right for social network distribution. This…

…was not planned. But, even in the excitement of prepping for a friend’s wedding, I’m sure we all knew the photo would be on Facebook (or my blog…) within 24 hours, so we unconsciously auto-piloted into arms akimbo. Some of you may also recall the sorority squat – another flattering position that allows for more people to fit into a photo frame, made popular by sorority women. Interesting how we instinctively default into such poses.

So, what I learned:

  1. Obvi, the term “arms akimbo” courtesy of Buzz Feed.
  2. “Akimbo” is a fun word to say.
  3. It appears we take photos more for online circulation and less for capturing memories. But hey, at least we look good.

And lastly, I promise I’m not flaking on my blog – I just haven’t learned anything worth sharing over the past several days. Well, I haven’t learned anything that wouldn’t be incriminating to post anyway…  I’ll get to that “learning” as soon as I can figure out how to eloquently discuss a real-life night like this:

Posted on December 13, 2011, in Lindsay analyzes, Lindsay explains, Lindsay reads. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

